Busy

In spite of our best intentions, sometimes life just gets in the way!  The past 2 months have been very busy for me, and I realized a few days ago that I got completely distracted from blogging!  It’s been quite some time since I last posted.  So I decided it was time for a new topic which I am hoping elicits some dialogue from my readers. 

Someone once defined the word “busy” with the following acronym: “Being Under Satan’s Yoke.”  I think that definition is particularly appropriate, because when we get busy, we lose focus on our relationship with God.  It’s easy to go one day, then two days, then suddenly a week or more without really praying, without really reading the Bible when there is a lot going on in life.  It’s easy to be distracted by all the little things in life and to forget the need to continually be building up our relationship with the Lord.  Don’t get me wrong, having things to do in life is important!!  Keeping the house clean, making dinner, going to work, studying for finals–all are important parts of the lives we live.  However, when the daily routine starts to cut out God, then it’s time to redefine priorities! 

Another equally dangerous pitfall in our walk with God is routine.  Sometimes we get so caught up in the “routine” of our relationship with God that we stop growing and start atrophying.  This can happen even when we are diligently reading the Word and praying!  I know I have been in the place before where I got so focused on making sure I was sticking with my plan that I forgot that the “plan” wasn’t what was important.  It’s a great temptation to think that if we are reading nine chapters per day, listening to 14 worship songs in the morning, and praying for 30 minutes morning and night that we have arrived.  But God doesn’t work like that.  Sometimes less is way more!  One song on repeat may be what I need for the day, or two verses may hold such depths that it takes me a week to grasp what God has for me.  The key is in growing to know God’s voice within each day’s events, whether habitual or unusual! 

Consistently be growing in your walk with God.  Don’t let life get in the way, and don’t let your idea of what it should be get in the way of God’s voice in your daily life!

2 thoughts on “Busy

  1. Iv’e been way to busy for God lately. I feel horrible because of that also. Does God like it when we have everything perfect and we pray and read the bible at a certain time each day and night? Does it have to be at the same time everytime? Do I have to say sorry God I got to busy to read my bible at 10:30 this morning? Or does he care about those things really?

    • No, God doesn’t care what time you spend time with Him, so long as you actually do spend the time!! It’s like any friendship: How close do you feel with someone who never calls you, never spends time with you, never tries to do anything with you or for you? After a while, you may have a hard time thinking of that person as a very good friend!

      Also, how many friendships do you have where you just spend time with that person at specific point in the day? Imagine you have a friend who tells you, “Ok, your time is from 8 am to 8:30 am. I won’t talk to you before, and I won’t spend time with you afterwards. You miss your time, and you don’t get to see me.” Just like any other friend, God doesn’t want to be treated like that. He wants you to spend time with Him throughout the day, talk to Him whenever you think about Him.

      It’s nice to have a time scheduled to read the Bible or pray, but don’t limit your walk with God to that time. And don’t beat yourself up if you don’t get around to reading your Bible at 10:30 in the morning! Just take the time to read it later:-)

Leave a comment